Review” The Rose and the Thorn by Michael J. Sullivan

cover33193-medium

Publisher: Orbit
Publishing Date:
ISBN: 9780316243728
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4.7

Publisher Description: For more than a year Royce Melborn has tried to forget Gwen DeLancy, the woman who saved him and his partner Hadrian Blackwater from certain death. Unable to get her out of his mind, Royce returns to Medford with Hadrian but the two receive a very different reception — Gwen refuses to see them. The victim of abuse by a powerful noble, she suspects that Royce will ignore any danger in his desire for revenge. By turning the thieves away, Gwen hopes to once more protect them. What she doesn’t realize is what the two are capable of — but she’s about to find out.

Review: This novel takes place in the area of Medford and did not have our two hero’s (anti?) traveling much. I was a bit disappointed that they decided to have a base of operations in Medford, as I felt that adventures are best served on the road. Still this second novel in the series takes off right where the last one left us….wanting more. I could not put down this novel. I kept telling myself that I have to get up and should be asleep. I finished these first two in the series in record time, and as I write this review I am half-way through Theft of Swords. The cover art is still sucking with the groomed duo, looking painfully gay.

There is a timelessness about these novels that really makes you yearn for that era. You live it as you read it and are a bit sorrowful that it is not real and can never be. Now I know why LARPERS larp about. Hopefully if I ever get transported back, it would be into this authors imagination as a bad-ass swordsman with no douche-geeks in tights waving paper swords and talking in high British accents.

I plan on reading all of this authors novels. So pull up your tights and sharpen your scissors for the reviews to follow.

Leave a Reply

