Review: Equinox by Christian Cantrell

cover55901-medium

Publisher: 47 North

Publishing Date: March 2015

ISBN: 9781477825952 

Genre: SciFi

Rating: DNS

 

Publisher Description: A delicate balance exists between humankind on Earth and the Coronians, the descendants of terrestrial scientists who were marooned aboard the space station Equinox. In exchange for raw materials crucial to expanding their off-world home, the Coronians provide precious space-based solar power to an Earth obscured by greenhouse gasses. But distrust runs deep between the two races, with each yearning for freedom from their mutual dependence yet both terrified of perishing without the other’s help.

 Review: I started reading this and encountered the use of “actually” within the span of two sentences. So rather than boldly go forth, bludgeoning my brain with repetitive phrasing I decided to do a word search for “actually”.  As a quick aside, I loathe phrasing and the overuse of words to expedite scene development. “Actually” is currently used in our society to bolster ineptitude into a sense of believability and rarely is needed in any sentence.  To me, phrasing and word overuse begin around the 15x mark and trend towards excessive at around 30x.  This novel comes in with a staggering 117x.  So an easy review for me as I did not even get to start reading (DNS). Perhaps the publisher would be better off investing in more beta readers or content editors.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Equinox by Christian Cantrell

  1. Hi, there. I apologize that it wasn’t conveyed to you that this was not a final draft (I called my editor/publisher as soon as I saw this and he was very apologetic, as well). The book has since gone through two more rounds of editing, and is now ready to be released in March. If you don’t mind forwarding an address, I’d love to send you a copy of the final version. Again, I apologize for the misunderstanding, and I hope you’re willing to give the story another chance. I’d really like to hear your perspective on it.

    Best,
    Christian

Leave a Reply

