Review: Pacific Fire by Greg Van Eekhout

 

cover56747-medium

 

 

Publisher: Tor

Publishing Date: January 2015

ISBN: 9780765328564 

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: 4.2/5

Publisher Description: I’m Sam. I’m just this guy. Okay, yeah, I’m a golem created from the substance of his own magic by the late Hierarch of Southern California. With a lot of work, I might be able to wield magic myself. I kind of doubt it, though. Not like Daniel Blackland can. Daniel’s the reason the Hierarch’s gone and I’m still alive. He’s also the reason I’ve lived my entire life on the run. Ten years of never, ever going back to Los Angeles. Daniel’s determined to protect me. To teach me. 

Review:  Em and Sam are Golems that are on the run and on a mission: to save L.A. from the recreation of an ancient beast.

This was great read with good characters and a fast pace. Was kind of sad to come to an end as the world building was not only entertaining but engrossing as well. This was one of my rare forays into the world of urban fantasy of a parallel sort and am wondering why it took me so long. Maybe because there is not a lot of it out there.  Every scene embodies secondary characters that build the story line around the main characters. The only hiccup was that hideous cover. WTF is that anyway, the top of a hiking boot?

Anyway, really well crafted. Have fun with this one!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

