Review: Pull by Anne Riley

cover82540-medium

 

Publisher: Spencer Hill

Publishing Date: February 2016

ISBN:9781633920460

Genre: SciFi

Rating: DNF

Publishers Description: Rosie Clayton witnesses a mugging on her first night in London – and then the scene rewinds itself. She finds herself standing in the same place again, with the mugging happening just like before, except this time a stranger steps in and stops it. There’s no way the same incident can have two outcomes. Rosie thinks she is losing her mind, until just a few days later, the stranger saves her.

Review:  If you go to the authors website, there is some blathering about whom to cast as characters for the novel “Pull”. My vote for an actor to play Rosie would be Jeff Goldblum, as he is the most boring actor I can think of. He might even be able to pull off the “swishing of hair” thing. Who would play Albert? I think a banana slug. Slow, slimey, fixed perspective.

Nothing much happens in this novel except a lot of daily life-living dialogue. “I went to the store with my passive aggressive brother…..wah, my boyfriend dumped me….I have powers from my dead grandpa…..wah….me, me, me.” The characters never develop with the movement because there is none. Everyone pitters around talking, talking, talking, talking. The events are brief and leave you with more questions that you don’t care to have answers to.  Rosie is a huffy, whiney, myopic narcissist that fails to capture your sympathy or plight. Her brother is not believable with his constant negative behavior and subsequent antics.

Alas I did not finish this book, and had I finished, my bleeding eyes and fixed stare into oblivion would render me inert and without purpose.

 

Leave a Reply

