Review: Death’s End By Cixin Liu (preview)

cover93075-medium

Publisher: Tor

Publishing Date: September 2016

ISBN: 9781466853454

Genre: SciFi

Rating: DNF

Publishers Description: Cheng Xin, an aerospace engineer from the early 21st century, awakens from hibernation in this new age. She brings with her knowledge of a long-forgotten program dating from the beginning of the Trisolar Crisis, and her very presence may upset the delicate balance between two worlds. Will humanity reach for the stars or die in its cradle?

Review: Am I missing something here? “Nebula award nominee, award winning, best selling, beloved, great acclaim, New York Times….Wall Street Journal……”  Did Buddha write this? Did the heavens open up and barf holy dribbles in the form of the written word of Cixin? Did Moses decend the mount, not with the commandments but with the book of Cixin Liu?

Well I think I got more than a preview/excerpt as this was one long boring mutha. So boring in fact, that I think I can patent the spastically conjoined words into a homeopathic remedy for insomnia. Before you go ape-shit on me for ridiculing your scifi savior, I didn’t just fall off the turnip truck, bang my head on a rock and wake up semi-dystopian confused. I have been reading GOOD science fiction since I was 6 years old (lets see, carry the one…minus 3, equals) so that’s about 47 years……give or take, um. Anywaaay, in short, this was really bad. Boring with a capital B. Dialogue got dialong. Really slow movement, if any, and characters flatter than a mashed cat. DID NOT FINISH.

2 thoughts on “Review: Death’s End By Cixin Liu (preview)

  1. Dead! 😀 hahahahahaha… you’re my review-hero!

Leave a Reply

